This is what I was able to find. As far as I can tell, it doesn't say anything about looking back. I think what the ref means, basically, is that there can be some contact if the defensive player is going for the ball, because they're both allowed to attempt to reach the ball. However, if the defender never looks back to see the ball, an argument can't be made that he was going for the ball. Therefore, any contact at all, by the defender, would automatically be pass interference. Of course this would just be my interpretation. I'm sure one of our resident rules experts will correct me if I'm wrong.
Illegal Contact and Pass InterferenceARTICLE 8.
a. During a down in which a legal forward pass crosses the neutralzone, illegal contact by Team A and Team B players is prohibited from thetime the ball is snapped until it is touched by any player or an official (A.R.7-3-8-II).
b. Offensive pass interference is contact by a Team A player beyond theneutral zone that interferes with a Team B player during a legal forwardpass play in which the forward pass crosses the neutral zone. It is theresponsibility of the offensive player to avoid the opponents. It is notoffensive pass interference (A.R. 7-3-8-IV, V, X, XV and XVI):
1. When, after the snap, a Team A ineligible player immediately chargesand contacts an opponent at a point not more than one yard beyondthe neutral zone and maintains the contact for no more than threeyards beyond the neutral zone. (A.R. 7-3-10-II)RULE 7 / Snappingand Passing the Ball FR-87
2. When two or more eligible players are making a simultaneous andbona fide attempt to reach, catch or bat the pass. Eligible players ofeither team have equal rights to the ball (A.R. 7-3-8-IX).
3. When the pass is in flight and two or more eligible players are in thearea where they might receive or intercept the pass and an offensiveplayer in that area impedes an opponent, and the pass is not catchable.
Pass Interference: SummaryARTICLE 9.
a. Either Team A or Team B legally may interfere with opponentsbehind the neutral zone.
b. Players of either team legally may interfere beyond the neutral zone afterthe pass has been touched (A.R. 7-3-9-I).
c. Defensive players legally may contact opponents who have crossed theneutral zone if the opponents are not in a position to receive a catchableforward pass.
1. Those infractions that occur during a down in which a forward passcrosses the neutral zone are pass interference infractions only if thereceiver had the opportunity to receive a catchable forward pass.
2. Those infractions that occur during a down in which a forward passdoes not cross the neutral zone are Rule 9-3-4 infractions and thepenalty is enforced from the previous spot.
d. Pass interference rules apply only during a down in which a legal forwardpass crosses the neutral zone (Rules 2-19-3 and 7-3-8-a, b and c).
e. Contact by Team B with an eligible receiver involving a personal foul thatinterferes with the reception of a catchable pass may be ruled either aspass interference or as a personal foul with the 15-yard penalty enforcedfrom the previous spot. Rule 7-3-8 is specific about contact during a pass.However, if the interference involves an act that ordinarily would resultin disqualification or ejection, the fouling player is disqualified or ejectedfrom the game.
f. Physical contact is required to establish interference. (A.R. 7-3-8-I)
g. Each player has territorial rights, and incidental contact is ruled under“attempt to reach…the pass’’ in Rule 7-3-8. If opponents who are beyondthe line collide while moving toward the pass, a foul by one or bothplayers occurs only if intent to impede the opponent is obvious. It is passinterference only if a catchable forward pass is involved.
h. Pass interference rules do not apply after the pass has been touchedanywhere inbounds by an inbounds player or has touched an official. Ifan opponent is fouled, the penalty is for the foul and not pass interference(A.R. 7-3-9-I).
i. After the pass has been touched, any player may execute a legal blockduring the remaining flight of the pass.
j. Tackling or grasping a receiver or any other intentional contact before thereceiver touches the pass is evidence that the tackler is disregarding the balland is therefore illegal.
k. Tackling or running into a receiver when a forward pass obviously isunderthrown or overthrown is disregarding the ball and is illegal. Thisis not pass interference but a violation of Rule 9-1-12-a, which carriesa penalty of 15 yards from the previous spot plus a first down. Flagrantoffenders shall be disqualified or ejected.