Drought and Six Man Football

robb kendrick

11-man fan
Hi My name is Robb Kendrick. I'm a photographer who grew up in Spur and Hereford, Tx but now live in Austin. I work frequently for National Geographic Magazine and I am currently working on an NG story about the drought in Texas. I'm trying to see if anyone knows of a football team that is canceling their season, or playing all AWAY games because of field conditions and lack of water for their field or safety concerns for the players due to fields not being watered?

Another alternative would be what team has the field under the most stress, maybe little grass left? Trying to show the human side of the drought and if it is impacting High School football in Texas. ANy thoughts on this would be appreciated.

Also, if you have any other thoughts on drought impact in your area that is especially telling of the severity I am open to hear about other items.

My email is [email protected]

Many thanks,

Robb

We play on turf but as far as practice is concerned we have had to use the gym for the majority of practice because the sun has killed ALL the grass on our practice field. The field now has cracks and holes and is almost 100% dirt.

Coach Ross
(903) 386 - 0400
Athens Christian Prep

Our practice field at Wichita Christian is 100% dirt. Our varsity kids do not take to the ground (our JH kids do because they don't have too far to fall and don't hit very hard anyways). I told our kids it may suck now but at least it's a good story they can tell when their old!