College Scouts

diesing

11-man fan
This is my first year coaching football. One of my potential players asked how playing for a TCAL division II program might effect his chances of getting scouted by a college. Would he be better off playing for a TCAL division I program?

What can I tell players interested in my program about college scouts and college scholarships?

Same question for home school vs private vs public school programs.

Same question for 6-man vs 11-man.

I don't care what the answer is. I just want to be able to tell my players the truth.

diesing":29au6o7s said:
This is my first year coaching football. One of my potential players asked how playing for a TCAL division II program might effect his chances of getting scouted by a college. Would he be better off playing for a TCAL division I program?

What can I tell players interested in my program about college scouts and college scholarships?

Same question for home school vs private vs public school programs.

Same question for 6-man vs 11-man.

I don't care what the answer is. I just want to be able to tell my players the truth.

While I was watching the NCAA basketball finals, the NCAA ran an ad saying that most college athletes go pro in a field other than athletics.

UIL publishes some statistics (found on page 13 of the following PDF file: http://www.uil.utexas.edu/athletics/man ... mation.pdf)

Briefly, the stats are as follows

983,600 High school students play football (all levels, private six man to UIL 5A eleven man)
281,000 of those are seniors

There are 56,500 roster spots in NCAA football (You can probably add a couple thousand for NAIA and junior colleges).

Of that number, 16,200 are for freshmen (ie scholarships offered; although some levels, like NCAA D-3 do not have athletic scholarships)

That means 5.8% of all high school senior football players will play some college football.