Canceled Games questions????

barny75070

11-man fan
Hey all- Certainly don't want to air dirty laundry in this forum, but our program along with several others is continuing to run into scheduling issues this season....

Game scheduled last winter, week of the game getting...."We don't have anyone to call the game from the sidelines, and need to cancel" or "Well, we knew we had double booked, but decided on Monday we would take the other game- good luck finding a game" ...or the ever infamous "We are a little banged up right now, so think we are going to take a week off before District (with a Roster of 14)....then there is "Looks like based on your schedule/record, we are in for a pretty good beat down....maybe we should reschedule for next season"

Or my very favorite...."I am a new coach/AD, etc.... Not sure how they handled this before, but we need a week off"....That was the best one at 4PM on a Thursday....

I guess that we have always tried to keep our commitments...What exactly are these programs teaching the boys that play for them...A commitment is only to be kept if it is convenient?? Our schedules are just suggestions?? In my view, this is an integrity issue at its very core....

We have had to adjust our last 3 opponents as a result of School programs not keeping their commitments and leaving our program to try to find another opponent, and know that at least one of our opponents became available to play as a result of another program backing out of a scheduled game....

Bottom line- if you schedule a game, keep the commitment...if you can't keep the commitment, you shouldn't be in a position of decision making/leadership overseeing your program...

Thank you, and I will now put my soapbox back under the bed where it belongs!!!!

If I am not mistaken if they are UIL schools playing UIL schools, the UIL can hold the other team financially responsible for loss of revenue....Not for certain. If private schools are doing this, nothing can be done.