A HEARTFELT APOLOGY

ACPACoachRoss

11-man fan
Coaches, fans and players of sixman football...

I am new to sixman football. I am also new to coaching in a christian league. I have made some of you angry with comments that certainly were not meant to cause stress or harm to you or your schools. Sometimes a post can come across cold and heartless because its just words on a page but could have actually been posted in a completely different context.

I am truly sorry if my comments were hurtfull or perceived as disrespectful to any one of you or your schools and teams.

I took over a team this year that was beaten down every week and most of the time mercy ruled last year every week. Our boys never cancelled a game and always showed up for the beat down that was sure to come. I am proud of them and proud of the coaching staff that was here that continued in games where they were constantly overmatched.

I wanted to help change our boy's confidence and attitudes about the game of football. It was important that they had a leader come in that was full of spirit and willing to stand up and say "Hey, you can be champions too!" In doing that I have come across arrogant and cocky to some of you and that was never meant to be my purpose. I just want our boys to have a different perception of the game and of themselves.

They started believing in themselves and working hard. I am proud of them for this because it was a hard thing for them to start believing in themselves.

I should not have posted teams that had cancelled games on us. I realize that often times things happen that cause the circumstances to change. I was most hurt for our boys who just wanted to play football. I realize it is an unusual year and these things are not common. We had nine teams cancel games over the course of a couple of weeks for a variety of reasons. It seemed personal but I know deep down that it was not.