How does someone get into coaching six man football?

jbrann12

11-man fan
Hi, my name is Jordan Brann. I graduated from RRCA last year and played in the private school all star bowl and the Can Am Bowl. I have never been as happy as I was on the football field. I've thought about it a lot and I want to coach six man football. Is there a specific college major for coaching or teaching or something?

Volunteering goes a long way. If you are going to college, try to find a school that plays six man and volunteer. This is usually easier with private school or independent schools. Then just build your way up from there. Unless you are taking a teaching job somewhere, the degrees won't really matter. Six man coaching is a niche job, so once you gain some experience that goes a long way.

Hi Jordan. I'm not qualified to advise you but admire your choice of career at an early age.
I do know Coach Burkhart at Richland Springs and Mallory at Throckmorton went to Tarleton.
I don't know what either majored in. Coach Pustejovsky at Strawn went there also and I believe interned at Strawn before being hired. Several 6 man towns not too far away. Call or e-mail one for advise after the season.
Some out there might advise you to go to Colorado and jump off a cliff first to demonstrate your insanity in this pursuit...low pay, small town parent "advisers", driving the yellow dog, washing towels, marking fields.
But don't get discouraged when you get 45'd. It happens to the best of em'.

smokeyjoe53":aiv0edpe said:
Michael Brand at Whitharral might offer some advice. A good young coach and a fine young man.

Thanks for the compliment, SmokeyJoe!

Believe it or not, coaching 6-man football never crossed my mind
while going to school. But after being involved in it for 8 years now,
I wouldn't consider coaching crowded field football.

As far as education, there are plenty of fine schools out there.
If I had to do it again, I would go with a public school (much cheaper)