Passing Strategies

Tesla Did It

11-man fan
Since we're rolling along so well, let's talk about our passing games!
I was wondering if we should teach all the players the passing tree or have specific players trained and assigned to run specific routes?

This year was my first year to coach six-man football, but one thing I learned was that when you only have 9 kids, everybody better know what everybody's job is because you never know what position you may find yourself playing.

I'm a first year coach as well (only had 10 players), and I went with the passing tree theory. I wanted to keep our offense simple and flexible. I went with a system where a WR would run a #5 pattern just the same way he would if he were the center.

We didn't win a game this year. However, I think that I will use the same system with some major tweeks in the playcalling. As always I would like to hear what others do 'cause I'm not above borrowing a good idea.

We used wrist coaches and had the actual routes listed by position for each passing play, and each passing play was a number. For example: if I called Trips Right 1, on the wrist coach, kids would look at play one for our trips formation and then find their position (outside receiver is #1, middle is #2, inside receiver #3) and next to their position would have the route they ran. Since my QB ran all the plays in, if I wanted to change a route, I would just tell my QB to tell whatever receiver whose route would change to run whatever route I wanted him to. Not real sophisticated, but really simple and our passing game was actually pretty effective.