Minimum Wage Hike

Any inflationary pressure from this will be minimal. Not that many people are paid the minimum, and the vast majority of those that are tend to be entry level workers in manual labor or fast food jobs. Around here, most of the fast food joints pay higher than minimum just to get workers. Most pay around $7.50.

My main objection to it is the political symbolism allowing politicians to cry crocodile tears about giving the poor a raise, while doing absolutely nothing that helps their situation, not that there is really anything the government can do to truly alleviate poverty. It makes them feel good about themselves, trumpets their "good intentions", and lets them off the hook for any negative consequences. :roll:

Seeing as how I'm just a poor farmer and not anywhere near an economist, I'd like to ask a dumb question. How many people that belong to unions have their wages tied by contract to minimum wage? They may be making 20 an hour, you increase the minimum wage by 2 dollars and suddenly the union man is making 22 an hour. If that is the case, it looks to me like it could cause inflation.

Old Bearkat":3jc3pzpt said:
granger":3jc3pzpt said:
wait, he said economist, not nuclear physicist...

Engineer!!! Which qualifies me as an economist! :D

Engineers are experts at everything... Or at least that's what they'll have you believe...

Blue Bird":3jc3pzpt said:
Seeing as how I'm just a poor farmer and not anywhere near an economist, I'd like to ask a dumb question. How many people that belong to unions have their wages tied by contract to minimum wage? They may be making 20 an hour, you increase the minimum wage by 2 dollars and suddenly the union man is making 22 an hour. If that is the case, it looks to me like it could cause inflation.

Dang unions are tearing this country apart!