11 man schemes in 6 man

CleverUsername1

11-man fan
Okay, I have a question that I hope somebody with a lot of experience in 6 man can help out with. I graduated from Blum in '16 and played all 6 years of Jr and High School, so I know quite a bit about the game but probably not as much as some of you older fellers know. My question is, has any 6 man team ever used 11 man schemes or principles with any kind of success? It seems like every team in the state runs the same old tired formations T, Strong Right, Diamond spread or some slight variation of the three. It seems to me that with the wide open field and all the space available that certain 11 man schemes would work very well. I'm thinking mainly about west coast style offenses here, with lots of play action passes and short crossing routes across the middle of the field ran mainly out of pistol I with either a fullback, a tight end or a wide receiver split out towards the sideline. Of course the running game would have to be well established for this scheme to work, as we saw with the Cowboys on Sunday lol. Maybe I'm not seeing it, but it just seems like 6 man is missing the innovation that is seen at the collegiate and pro levels.