This would only apply in 11-man but a coach friend who is an x-official asked me. In their game last night flag was thrown for illegal receiver downfield. QB was outside the tackle box and just threw away the ball, all within the rules. WH waved off the flag. Told the Head Coach that NCAA had approved a new rule this year and if QB is just throwing away the ball then there is no foul for illegal receiver downfield. Is this really a "NEW RULE" or is this just another East Texas thing by officials?