Defensive Holding TX rule

crporth2

New member
Ok this was a middle school game.
4th quarter and sun is going down. Score is 40-44 and my team is behind - its a shootout or nobody can play defense today - Maybe 2 minutes left. Ball is on -25. 1st and 15.

The opposing team defensive coordinator makes an adjustment and puts his best tall dude on my tall dude and tell him to HOLD him. He literally held him to the point of bear hugging him. It was a defensive hold on a passing play. QB did not have anyone open and threw an incomplete pass to someone else. I had called a shot play to my tall dude.

Referee called defensive holding and awarded 10 yard penalty now 1st and 5 yards. Correct award?

A complaint I have is that in 11 man it would be a 1st down but in 6 man we have 15 yard 1st down chains.

Thanks for reading
rp
 

Mike

Administrator
Correct call. You are actually in a better position with 1st and 5 than with 1st and 15.
That is correct, because they had 1st down to start with. However, if they were 4th and 15, before the penalty, 4th and 5 is definitely not better than 1st and 15 (in my unprofessional opinion).

I actually thought it was an automatic 1st down penalty too. Always learning something!
 

pistol

Member
If it was a pass play and holding occurred past the LOS then it should be 10 yards from the previous spot and auto first down-- so 1st and 15.

If defensive holding is called on a run play, you can tack it on at the end of the run or the previous spot (whichever is better) and its a replay the down, unless it results in a first down (which is where you could get a 1st and 5)
 
If it was a pass play and holding occurred past the LOS then it should be 10 yards from the previous spot and auto first down-- so 1st and 15.

If defensive holding is called on a run play, you can tack it on at the end of the run or the previous spot (whichever is better) and its a replay the down, unless it results in a first down (which is where you could get a 1st and 5)
This is true as long as the pass also crosses the neutral zone. So in OP's case, if the check down pass was behind the line of scrimmage, it would not be an auto first and 1st and 5 would be correct.

Also, if the holding is against an ineligible receiver there is no auto first. In 11-man this would normally be a player who is either wearing an ineligible number or was covered up on the line of scrimmage. But it could apply in 6-man to a player who went out of bounds on his own and then came back in before being held.
 
Top