Search results

  1. L

    Defensive Holding TX rule

    This is true as long as the pass also crosses the neutral zone. So in OP's case, if the check down pass was behind the line of scrimmage, it would not be an auto first and 1st and 5 would be correct. Also, if the holding is against an ineligible receiver there is no auto first. In 11-man this...
  2. L

    Cut Blocks

    Yeah, I thought I had put that at the very beginning, but I guess it got deleted as I was trying to edit together my response. Thanks.
  3. L

    Cut Blocks

    It all depends on where they line up and whether or not they are in motion at the snap. Before we get into this, it’s important to remember that the tackle box is defined as 5 yards laterally on either side of the ball and goes from the line of scrimmage all the way back to the offense’s end...
  4. L

    Horse Collar

    As described, that is an incorrect call. The rule was changed a few years ago and no longer requires a player’s hand to be inside the jersey or pads to be a foul. However they still have to grab the “name plate area”. Basically above the numbers. Grabbing the bottom of the numbers does not meet...
  5. L

    WEEK 6 SCORES - VARSITY FINALS ONLY 2021

    This score is impossible in 6OT. In 1A football, starting in 3OT, it is only possible to win by 1 or 2 points. Although to win by 2, it would take the offense losing 73 yards in one play and conceding a safety. And since there has never been a recorded offensive safety on a try in the history of...
  6. L

    Blindside Inconsistencies

    That question is kind of getting into another can of worms, so let’s look at one rule at a time. If the blocker is hitting the defender with his helmet, that is a pretty good clue that he now meets the “attack” criteria in the rule. So if it is indeed forcible, it would qualify as a foul for an...
  7. L

    Blindside Inconsistencies

    Simply cracking or delivering a blindside block is not necessarily a foul in and of itself. The rules define a blindside block, but then go on to say a player may not deliver a blindside block “by attacking an opponent with forcible contact”. So if it is something like setting a screen or an...
  8. L

    Question about defensive alignments

    Yes, they can line up on him. The restriction on lining up over him only applies to scrimmage kick formations. However, they may not initiate contact with the snapper until 1 second has gone by. This applies any time the offense does not have a player directly under center.
  9. L

    New NCAA Rule?

    This is a new rule this year. Prior to this year it was a listed philosophy in the mechanics manual, but this offseason it was officially added as a rule.
  10. L

    Kickoff Rules

    There is one thing that hasn’t been explicitly mentioned here, but people often get wrong. Unlike pass interference, there doesn’t actually have to be contact to have kick catch interference. If a kicking team player jumps up, beats the receiving team player to the ball, and touches the ball...
  11. L

    Kickoff Rules

    Straight from the rule book. 6-4-1-a and -c, and 6-5-1-b. The first two references cover any player attempting to catch a kick. The third covers players who have given a valid fair catch signal.
  12. L

    Kickoff Rules

    A player attempting to catch a kick may not be interfered with whether he gives a fair catch signal or not. Kick catch interference and tackling a player who has completed a fair catch are separate fouls. The only thing a fair catch signal does for his catch protection is extend it until the...
  13. L

    Kickoff

    No. If a free kick comes to rest and no player is attempting to recover it, it is dead and belongs to the receiving team at that spot. It is not a foul, the ball is just dead.
  14. L

    Kickoff

    Not legal. Once the ball is placed and the ready for play signal is given, the ball cannot be moved.
  15. L

    QB fumble

    Almost all of the information given is irrelevant to roughing the passer. Being outside of the tackle box, whether the snap was muffed or whether the pass was tipped all have no bearing on whether there is a foul for roughing the passer. All that matters is the contact itself. If the hit is late...
  16. L

    Tripping-legal??

    It’s important to note here that the term “tripping” is defined as using the foot or lower leg to obstruct an opponent below the knee. It sounds like that’s probably not what happened here. Based on the description I would guess the player used his hands or arms to make the tackle.
  17. L

    1 point safety rule

    Batting a ball applies new impetus and the player who bats it is then responsible for the ball going over the goal line. Also remember that batting is an intentional act. Simply muffing the ball in an attempt to recover it would not be new impetus and thus the fumbling team would still be...
  18. L

    1 point safety rule

    Until there is actually a legal kick, it's nothing. Once the ball is kicked, then it is dead if the kick is obviously unsuccessful. If the holder muffs the snap, he can still run or pass. He can even pass the ball with his knee still on the ground.
  19. L

    1 point safety rule

    That is only on a kicked try. On a run or pass attempt, it is only dead once the defense actually has possession.
  20. L

    1 point safety rule

    Yes and yes. Although it would be a bit tricky to have one sixman since the ball becomes dead on a try. The only way it could happen is if the offense lost possession and the defense batted the ball back into their own end zone and it became dead there. At that point they would be responsible...
Top