Recent content by Legacy Zebra

  1. L

    Onside kick attempt blocking

    Agreed with Bobby and Zero. Team B simply crossing the restraining line does not absolve Team A of a foul here. If Team B initiates the contact, then Team A can defend themselves and ward off that contact. But if Team A initiates the contact, the location of the block is irrelevant.
  2. L

    Kick off recv mechanics - time to set up?

    Yes. Anytime a loose ball touches a player or anything else that is out of bounds, the ball is dead out of bounds. Even if the ball itself never crossed the sideline or end line.
  3. L

    Field goal question

    I would send this question to your state office and get a response in writing. While the solution above seems like a common sense approach, there is no rule support for doing so. There is a provision in the UIL six man exceptions that allows the game to be played on an 11 man field if a 40x80...
  4. L

    Field goal question

    Yes, this is legal. I’m not sure I understand your other questions. Why would you be allowed to move up 10 yards?
  5. L

    Cut Blocks

    That is one of the main blocks that the rules committee wants gone. The only time the defense is now allowed to go low is immediately after the snap. So a defender cutting a pulling guard or lead blocker on a sweep is now a foul.
  6. L

    Cut Blocks

    The tackle box is defined as 5 yards to either side of the ball at the snap and all the way back to the offense's end line. That definition is the same in 6- and 11-man football. So it doesn't matter how far back they line up; what matters is how wide they line up and where the block occurs...
  7. L

    Cut Blocks

    Offensive backs may not block low from the side, regardless of initial charge or not. Only linemen within the tackle box may block low from the side. The defensive side of your doc needs a couple tweaks. The defense is allowed to block low from the side. But all low blocks by the defense must...
  8. L

    Defensive Holding TX rule

    This is true as long as the pass also crosses the neutral zone. So in OP's case, if the check down pass was behind the line of scrimmage, it would not be an auto first and 1st and 5 would be correct. Also, if the holding is against an ineligible receiver there is no auto first. In 11-man this...
  9. L

    Cut Blocks

    Yeah, I thought I had put that at the very beginning, but I guess it got deleted as I was trying to edit together my response. Thanks.
  10. L

    Cut Blocks

    It all depends on where they line up and whether or not they are in motion at the snap. Before we get into this, it’s important to remember that the tackle box is defined as 5 yards laterally on either side of the ball and goes from the line of scrimmage all the way back to the offense’s end...
  11. L

    Horse Collar

    As described, that is an incorrect call. The rule was changed a few years ago and no longer requires a player’s hand to be inside the jersey or pads to be a foul. However they still have to grab the “name plate area”. Basically above the numbers. Grabbing the bottom of the numbers does not meet...
  12. L

    WEEK 6 SCORES - VARSITY FINALS ONLY 2021

    This score is impossible in 6OT. In 1A football, starting in 3OT, it is only possible to win by 1 or 2 points. Although to win by 2, it would take the offense losing 73 yards in one play and conceding a safety. And since there has never been a recorded offensive safety on a try in the history of...
  13. L

    Blindside Inconsistencies

    That question is kind of getting into another can of worms, so let’s look at one rule at a time. If the blocker is hitting the defender with his helmet, that is a pretty good clue that he now meets the “attack” criteria in the rule. So if it is indeed forcible, it would qualify as a foul for an...
  14. L

    Blindside Inconsistencies

    Simply cracking or delivering a blindside block is not necessarily a foul in and of itself. The rules define a blindside block, but then go on to say a player may not deliver a blindside block “by attacking an opponent with forcible contact”. So if it is something like setting a screen or an...
  15. L

    Question about defensive alignments

    Yes, they can line up on him. The restriction on lining up over him only applies to scrimmage kick formations. However, they may not initiate contact with the snapper until 1 second has gone by. This applies any time the offense does not have a player directly under center.
Top