It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:43 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Kicking team advancing onside kick 
Author Message
6-Man Fan

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:13 pm
Posts: 53
Post Kicking team advancing onside kick
If the kicking team recovers an onside kick can it be advanced? Does it matter if it touches a player on the receiving team or not?


Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:12 am
Profile
6Man Authority
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 7087
Location: Seguin, Texas, The World
Post Re: Kicking team advancing onside kick
I believe you can only advance the onside kick if it is touched by the receiving team; if you recover it after it's gone 15 yards then it is spotted at the point you recovered the ball.


Sat Oct 19, 2013 11:06 am
Profile
6-Man Fan

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 63
Location: Texas
Post Re: Kicking team advancing onside kick
No. The kicking team can never advance a kick-off. A kick continues to be a kick until it is caught or recovered by the receiving team. If team B just touches the ball but never possesses it, the status of the ball is still a kick. The touching by the receiving team just allows team A to legally gain possession of the ball.


Sat Oct 19, 2013 4:02 pm
Profile
6-Man Fan

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:04 am
Posts: 704
Post Re: Kicking team advancing onside kick
It is against the rules for the kicking team to advance a recovered kick or muffed kick...now have I seen ref allow it because they don't know the rules...Yes...and in fact I score such a TD in 1999.

The only possible way you can legally advance it would be if a player has possesion of the ball and then fumbles it and you can advance the fumble...but not a recovered kick or muffed kick


Sat Oct 19, 2013 4:15 pm
Profile
6-Man Fan

Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:13 pm
Posts: 53
Post Re: Kicking team advancing onside kick
Thanks for the clarification. I actually asked the refs at our game tonight for clarification on this and they said just what was said here. Only if the ball is fielded and then fumbled can the kicking team advance it. This was not the call in a JH game we played on Thursday night, but it was what I believed to be so.


Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:53 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.