Offensive Offsides

Post your questions and TASO refs will answer them.

Moderators: mjda76384, granger, freeagent

Offensive Offsides

Postby gohorns40 » Sat Oct 10, 2015 2:58 pm

i don't ever remember seeing this called in a game. Gordon v Lingleville had two called. The first one, flag was thrown before the ball was snapped, called as a dead ball foul. There did not appear to be movement for an Illegal Procedure call. The second one, flag was thrown after the ball was snapped. The referee signal was very clearly "Offsides" on both calls. Both plays were from tight formations. Just seemed bizarre.
User avatar
gohorns40
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 3:01 am
Location: metromess

Re: Offensive Offsides

Postby Legacy Zebra » Sat Oct 10, 2015 5:07 pm

Offside is a defensive foul on a play from scrimmage or could be on either team on a free kick. If it is against the offense it is called encroachment. But, yes, there is such a foul and it is a dead ball foul. It occurs when an offensive player enters the neutral zone after the snapper has addressed the ball. Unlike the defense, the offense is not given the opportunity to get back behind the ball. It is a foul as soon as they are in the neutral zone.
Legacy Zebra
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 2:17 pm

Re: Offensive Offsides

Postby gohorns40 » Sat Oct 10, 2015 9:14 pm

I did read up on the rule and concur with your detail. Same line judge threw both flags, should have called the second one as a dead ball foul too.
User avatar
gohorns40
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 3:01 am
Location: metromess

Re: Offensive Offsides

Postby fencewire » Tue Oct 13, 2015 4:11 am

In a practical sense, if a receiver comes out, isn't paying attention and goes beyond the NZ and he is looking for alignment help from the wing official, unless the ball is snapped during this we just want to get him aligned correctly and go on with the game without following the technical letter of the rule as there is no advantage gained by him not being aware and being a foot or two out of place for a second or two.

If, however, he doesn't look for, or doesn't accept, help in alignment then it is on him at that point, and it would be encroachment. If he goes beyond the NZ and is still getting back and there is a snap, it would be a false start as he would have never been set prior to the snap.
fencewire
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2008 12:35 am


Return to Ask a ref!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron