Rule Question?

Post your questions and TASO refs will answer them.

Moderators: mjda76384, granger, freeagent

Rule Question?

Postby cw2006 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:36 pm

Ok so i was pretty upset at a call monday in the Crowell/WV game but has poor of a call as i thought it was I figure I'll seek someone else's opinion. It was a 4th and i believe 27 for WV in the 3rd. The game was tied at the time and WV was at about there own 30. They set up in what looked to be a punt formation, took the snap and the QB immediately started moving laterally with the ball pulled back looking for a receiver. In a split second he realized he was going to be hit and dropped and punted the ball as Lex got to him. (The hit was not late at all) The refs threw the flag for roughing the kicker and it was an automatic 1st for WV. This play happened so fast that I don't believe the defender could have pulled back. Is this fair?
cw2006
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:31 am

Re: Rule Question?

Postby 6manWT » Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:48 pm

I'm glad you brought that up because we were all wondering the exact same thing when that particular play happened. Seemed pretty unfair to the Crowell kid who attempted to sack the quarterback/tackle the runner, but ended up getting flagged for roughing the kicker. I felt like the Crowell kid got hosed on that play, but I don't know the what the particulars of the rule are. Hopefully a coach, official or someone who knows will get on here because that was a very odd call.
6manWT
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Rule Question?

Postby smokeyjoe53 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:17 pm

If the ball was punted and was not touched, it is a legit call. You see the same thing withe rugby style punters. Same thing.
Personally I think once the punter starts running forward there should be no roughing called....
User avatar
smokeyjoe53
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 5988
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Tartarus

Re: Rule Question?

Postby cw2006 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:22 pm

smokeyjoe53 wrote:If the ball was punted and was not touched, it is a legit call. You see the same thing withe rugby style punters. Same thing.
Personally I think once the punter starts running forward there should be no roughing called....

Thank you sir. appreciate the clarification. I still disagree though haha
cw2006
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:31 am

Re: Rule Question?

Postby 6manWT » Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:37 pm

smokeyjoe53 wrote:If the ball was punted and was not touched, it is a legit call. You see the same thing withe rugby style punters. Same thing.
Personally I think once the punter starts running forward there should be no roughing called....

Got it and I agree, very hard for the kid to put the brakes on when he thinks he's trying to tackle a runner.
6manWT
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Rule Question?

Postby WildcatClassOf89 » Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:12 am

I have asked and was told that once he left the protection box he was fair game. If I remember correctly he was clearly outside of the box before committing to the punt.

This needs to cleared up as any 1st down in this game could have easily changed the outcome.

Should we move this to the Ask a Ref forum?
WildcatClassOf89
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Goodcreek Bridge

Re: Rule Question?

Postby Old Bearkat » Thu Nov 28, 2013 8:14 am

WildcatClassOf89 wrote:
Should we move this to the Ask a Ref forum?


Yes.....
User avatar
Old Bearkat
6Man Authority
 
Posts: 6513
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 3:01 am
Location: Minooka, IL
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Rule Question?

Postby freeagent » Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:30 am

Old Bearkat wrote:
WildcatClassOf89 wrote:
Should we move this to the Ask a Ref forum?


Yes.....


Ask and thou shalt receive ...
User avatar
freeagent
6Man Authority
 
Posts: 8031
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Seguin, Texas, The World

Re: Rule Question?

Postby cowman52 » Thu Nov 28, 2013 7:06 pm

In all the clinics, it is stressed the punter must stop and reestablish him self as a kicker. The tackle box is not a part of the rule or discussion. There has been some hits on the rugby style kickers that since they never stopped and reestablished them selves there is no foul. The chapter here had quite the discussion over this, one way and the other.
A judgement call at best, you have to be there to see it .
cowman52
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:59 pm

Re: Rule Question?

Postby Legacy Zebra » Fri Nov 29, 2013 1:00 am

The tackle box is not a part of the rule or discussion.
Actually it is. 9-1-16-a-4-b says "The kicker’s protection under this rule ends ... (b)when he carries the ball outside the tackle box (Rule 2-34) before kicking."
Legacy Zebra
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 2:17 pm

Re: Rule Question?

Postby Blue Bird » Fri Nov 29, 2013 7:48 am

In a spread formation, what is considered the tackle box?
Blue Bird
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 1287
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 2:01 am
Location: Central Texas

Re: Rule Question?

Postby PopRay » Fri Nov 29, 2013 10:48 am

Blue Bird wrote:In a spread formation, what is considered the tackle box?


BB they were in a punt formation...but ifffin it were a spread it still is in the judgement of the Official where that durn tackle box is...but if the QB is runnin around with the ball cocked like he's trying to throw it and then decides to quick kick at last second...I say iffin his intention was to try and make a first down, then he is not protected as a punter....
PopRay
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 762
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Rule Question?

Postby WildcatClassOf89 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 1:37 pm

PopRay wrote:
Blue Bird wrote:In a spread formation, what is considered the tackle box?


BB they were in a punt formation...but ifffin it were a spread it still is in the judgement of the Official where that durn tackle box is...but if the QB is runnin around with the ball cocked like he's trying to throw it and then decides to quick kick at last second...I say iffin his intention was to try and make a first down, then he is not protected as a punter....


First intention was to advance the ball as he ran atound with it looking to pass then seen the heat coming and kicked it away.

I think the rule should be as simple as the above.
WildcatClassOf89
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:44 pm
Location: Goodcreek Bridge

Re: Rule Question?

Postby 6manWT » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:13 pm

Agreed on that one. If the flag is thrown consistently in that scenario, the offense can always do that on a 4th down looking for the penalty to give them the 1st. Definitely a judgement call and in a game as close as that one was, sure didn't want it to effect the outcome.
6manWT
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Rule Question?

Postby Blue Bird » Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:28 pm

There was never an intention to run the ball. Be honest with yourselves and the referees you are trying to win over. Pass the ball, yes, he had already passed the for a first down once and punted once. Same spread formation Pop! And it was the Rugby style punt. So, again, how do you judge what is a tackle box in a spread formation?
Blue Bird
6-Man Fan
 
Posts: 1287
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 2:01 am
Location: Central Texas

Next

Return to Ask a ref!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests